Both the “Intermezzo sinfonico” from Pietro Mascagni’s opera Cavalleria rusticana (1889) and Jules Massenet’s “Méditation” from his opera Thaïs (1892–93/98) remain two of the most popular intermezzos in the history of opera. Music publishers, too, soon reacted by bringing out arrangements for various resources, most of them intended for domestic consumption, and it was these arrangements that helped to popularize these two intermezzos.

Mascagni’s Intermezzo, too, was soon provided with words, so that it could be performed by singers. The Ave Maria (or Sancta Maria) that is based on his “Intermezzo sinfonico” continues to be heard in the concert hall and on records in the most varied arrangements. Less well known is the fact that Massenet arranged his “Méditation” for solo voice, violin, organ and piano or harp. It, too, was titled Ave Maria. The words, however, were those of the original prayer familiar from the Western Church and not, as with Massenet, Piero Mazzoni’s version of the text. This is by no means an absurd or even blasphemous idea since the original version for solo violin, choir and orchestra very quickly became known as his Méditation religieuse in keeping with its characterization and performance marking, “Andante religioso”. The “Méditation” marks a significant shift in the action of the opera and takes place against an equally religious backdrop.

The libretto to Massenet’s comédie lyrique is by Louis Gallet (1835–1898) and is based on the historical novel of the same name by Anatole France (1844–1924), a novel immensely successful in its own day. The action is set in Egypt in the fourth century ad during the early days of Christianity and tells the tale of the conversion of the Alexandrian courtesan Thaïs at the hands of the coenobite monk Athanaël. The story has a basis in history in the legend of Saint Thaïs, the patron saint of repentant prostitutes, who was converted to Christianity by Paphnutius the Ascetic († c360 ad) and who lived as a hermit until her death. One of the earliest writers to retell the legend was Roswitha of Gandersheim (c935–after 973) in her Latin drama Paphnutius. This dialogue contains an obvious allusion to Thaïs, the legendary hetaera of Alexander the Great who lived in the fourth century bc. During the “Méditation” in Massenet’s opera, Thaïs finally decides to follow Athanaël and renounce sin. After converting to Christianity, she lives as a hermit in the wilderness.

In the case of Mascagni, too, a vocal version of his Intermezzo using the words of the Ave Maria is by no means arbitrary. Here, too, the music unfolds within a religious context. We hear an offstage Easter service – hence the organ in the orchestra. In his autograph piano score Mascagni wrote the words “imitando la Preghiera” at the start of his Intermezzo, in that way underscoring his intentions. And he takes up the opening bars of the Regina coeli sung by the congregation in the village church in the previous scene, headed “Scena e Preghiera”. It is clearly entirely legitimate, therefore, to turn this Intermezzo into an Ave Maria.

Scenes involving prayers – frequently prayers to the Virgin Mary – are often found in opera and take the form of calm and contemplative arias reflecting the taste of the age. At the same time they were part of the Catholic Church’s Marian devotion. As a result both Mascagni and Massenet were later able to turn their operatic intermezzos into preghiere for the concert hall and create pieces that continue to move audiences to this day. To dismiss them simply as kitsch is to ignore the aspirations of their creators.

Massenet rearranged the solo violin part for the vocal line in a few places in such a way that the voice and violin are in harmony. It may be mentioned as well that he himself prepared an arrangement of the original version for solo violin, enabling it to be performed from the outset in the concert hall. All of the pointers in the printed score to the positioning of oboe, english horn and choir are already found in the autograph score, together with the alternatives when a choir is not available. If a choir is used at a concert performance, Massenet recommended either eight choristers or four soloists seated within the orchestra.

The present editions are prepared for use in the concert hall and are scored for solo voice, choir, organ and orchestra. Although it does not go back to any of Massenet’s surviving autographs, it may well have met with his approval – perhaps also because misprints have been eliminated. The two-bar introduction may be missing from the operatic score but has been taken over into these editions: it is, after all, a part of Massenet’s vocal versions. The retention of the chorus with closed mouth for the vocal performance with orchestra is fully in keeping with the Méditation’s original aim in the opera, where it functions as an imaginary preghiera and, as it were, as a silent prayer.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Prof. Wieland Reissmann for his valuable advice in the editing of this publication. MSp (Translation: texthouse)

Already published editions

Massenet Ave Maria sur la Méditation de Thaïs Mezzo-Soprano Score Cover
Composer: Massenet, Jules (1842–1912)
Lyricist: Anonymous
Edition/Transcription: Spindler, Matthias (*1963)
Opus: Ave Maria sur la Méditation de Thaïs (Concert Version)
Scoring: Mezzo-Soprano – Choir (SATB) – Organ (ad lib) – Solo Violin – Orchestra
Instruments: 2 Fl · 1 Ob · 1 EHn · 2 Cl (A) · 1 Bs Cl (Bb) · 2 Bsn · 1 CBsn – 4 Hn (F) – Timp – Hrp – Str
Key: D major
Duration: 06:00

 

Massenet Ave Maria sur la Méditation de Thaïs Soprano Score Cover
Composer: Massenet, Jules (1842–1912)
Lyricist: Anonymous
Edition/Transcription: Spindler, Matthias (*1963)
Opus: Ave Maria sur la Méditation de Thaïs (Concert Version)
Scoring: Soprano – Choir (SATB) – Organ (ad lib) – Solo Violin – Orchestra
Instruments: 2 Fl · 1 Ob · 1 EHn · 2 Cl (A) · 1 Bs Cl (Bb) · 2 Bsn · 1 CBsn – 4 Hn (F) – Timp – Hrp – Str
Key: D major
Duration: 06:00

 

Massenet Ave Maria sur la Méditation de Thaïs Mezzo-Soprano Score Cover
Composer: Massenet, Jules (1842–1912)
Lyricist: Anonymous
Edition/Transcription: Spindler, Matthias (*1963)
Opus: Ave Maria sur la Méditation de Thaïs (Concert Version)
Scoring: Mezzo-Soprano – Choir (SATB) – Organ (ad lib) – Solo Violin – Orchestra
Instruments: 2 Fl · 2 Ob · 2 Cl (Bb) · 2 Bsn – 4 Hn (F) – Timp – Hrp – Str
Key: D major
Duration: 06:00

 

Massenet Ave Maria sur la Méditation de Thaïs Soprano Score Cover
Composer: Massenet, Jules (1842–1912)
Lyricist: Anonymous
Edition/Transcription: Spindler, Matthias (*1963)
Opus: Ave Maria sur la Méditation de Thaïs (Concert Version)
Scoring: Soprano – Choir (SATB) – Organ (ad lib) – Solo Violin – Orchestra
Instruments: 2 Fl · 2 Ob · 2 Cl (Bb) · 2 Bsn – 4 Hn (F) – Timp – Hrp – Str
Key: D major
Duration: 06:00

 

Download (PDF)
Compofactur MusikVerlag Massenet: Ave Maria sur la Méditation de Thaïs

Contact:
Compofactur MusikVerlag
Matthias Spindler
Fon   +49 (40) 22 69 50 24
eMail servicecompofactur.com

Sowohl Pietro Mascagnis „Intermezzo sinfonico“ aus der Oper Cavalleria Rusticana (1889) als auch Jules Massenets Intermezzo „Méditation“ aus der Oper Thaïs (1892–93/98) gehören bis in unsere Zeit zu den beliebtesten Intermezzi der Operngeschichte. Schon sehr bald reagierten daher die Musikverleger mit Bearbeitungen für verschiedene Besetzungen vor­nehmlich für den Hausgebrauch und machten dadurch diese Stücke erst recht populär.

Mascagnis Intermezzo wurde beizeiten auch mit einem Text versehen für Sänger/innen zugänglich gemacht. Sein Ave Maria (oder Sancta Maria) nach seinem „Intermezzo sinfonico“ wird bis heute regelmäßig auf der Konzertbühne und im Aufnahmestudio in verschiedensten Arrangements gesungen. Weniger bekannt ist, daß auch Massenet ein Ave Maria nach seiner „Méditation“ für Solo-Stimme, Violine, Orgel und Klavier oder Harfe angefertigt hat, allerdings mit dem originalen Gebetstext der Westkirche und nicht, wie bei Mascagni, nach der Textfassung von Piero Mazzoni. Das ist keineswegs eine abwegige oder womöglich blasphemische Idee, denn seine Original­version für Solo-Violine, Chor und Orchester wurde recht früh auch als Méditation religieuse bezeichnet gemäß der Charakter- bzw. Tempobezeichnung „Andante religioso“ in der Partitur. Die „Méditation“ markiert in der Handlung der Oper eine ganz entscheidende Wende vor einem ebenfalls religiösen Hintergrund.

Das Libretto von Louis Gallet (1835–1898) zu Massenets comédie-lyrique beruht auf dem seinerzeit erfolgreichen antiklerikalen und historischen Roman gleichen Namens von Anatol France (1844–1924). Die Handlung ist im frühen Christentum des 4. Jahrhunderts n.Chr. in Ägypten ver­ankert und erzählt die Geschichte der Bekehrung der alexandrinischen Hetäre Thaïs zum Christentum durch den Einsiedler-Mönch Athanaël. Der historische Bezug dabei ist die Legende der Hl. Thaïs (Patronin der reuigen Dirnen), die, nachdem sie von Paphnutius von Ägypten (†um 360 n.Chr.) zum Christentum bekehrt wurde, bis zu ihrem Tod als Einsiedlerin lebte. Überliefert ist die Heiligenlegende bereits durch die Dialoglegende Paphnutius von Roswitha von Gandersheim (um 935–nach 973). Offenkundig dabei ist die Anspielung auf Thaïs, der legendären Hetäre Alexanders des Großen aus dem 4. Jahrhundert v.Chr. Während die „Méditation“ in der Oper erklingt, entschließt sich Thaïs zuletzt dem Ruf Athanaëls zu folgen, der Sünde zu entsagen und Christin zu werden, um dann als Einsiedlerin in die Wüste zu gehen.

Auch bei Mascagni ist eine vokale Fassung mit Ave-Maria-Text durchaus nicht willkürlich. Auch hier spielt die Musik in einem religiösen Kontext. Man hört einen imaginären Ostergottesdienst – daher auch die Orgel im Orchester. Mascagni schrieb am Beginn des „Intermezzo sinfonico“ in seinem autographen Klavierauszug die Worte „Imitando la Preghiera“, was seine Intentionen unterstreicht. Weiterhin greift der Komponist dabei auf die vom Chor in der Kirche vorgetragenen Anfangstakte des Regina coeli aus der „Scena und Preghiera“ zurück, mit der die Kirchenszene davor begann. Somit dürfte klar geworden sein, daß es durchaus legitim ist, daraus ein Ave Maria zu verfassen.

Musikalische Gebetsszenen (häufig Gebete an die Jungfrau Maria) in Form von ruhigen, meditativen Arien entsprachen dem Geschmack der damaligen Zeit und waren zugleich in die Marienverehrung der Katholischen Kirche eingebunden. Somit haben Mascagni und Massenet aus ihren Opern-Intermezzi nachträglich Preghiere für die Konzertbühne geschaffen, die auch heute noch das Publikum berühren. Dies einfach nur als Kitsch abzutun, entspricht nicht dem Bestreben ihrer Schöpfer.

Massenet hat die Solo-Violinstimme für die Gesangslinie an wenigen Stellen umgestaltet. Gesangsstimme und Solo-Violine harmonieren dann im zweistimmigen Satz. Auch sei erwähnt, daß er bereits die originale Fassung für Solo-Violine von Anfang an für eine Verwendung im Konzert eingerichtet hat. Alle Hinweise in der gedruckten Partitur zur Positionierung von Oboe, Englisch Horn und Chor stehen bereits im Autograph, ebenso die Alternativen, wenn ein Chor nicht verfügbar ist. Massenet hat bei Verwendung des Chores im Konzert entweder acht Sänger/innen oder vier Solist(inn)en vorgesehen, die im Orchester sitzend zu platzieren sind.

Die vorliegenden Ausgaben sind Einrichtungen für den Konzertgebrauch für Solo-Stimme, Chor, Orgel und Orchester, die zwar nicht auf Handschriften von Massenet zurückgehen, aber sein Placet finden dürften; vielleicht auch, weil Druckfehler eliminiert wurden. Die zweitaktige Einleitung, die ja in der Opern-Partitur fehlt, wurde auch für diese Editionen übernommen, schließlich ist sie auch in Massenets Vokal-Fassungen zu finden. Die Beibehaltung des Chores mit geschlossenem Mund auch für die gesangliche Ausführung unterstreicht durchaus die originäre Absicht in der Oper als imaginäre Preghiera quasi als stilles Gebet.

Herrn Prof. Wieland Reißmann sei an dieser Stelle für seine wertvollen Hinweise bei der Redaktion dieser Publikation herzlich gedankt. MSp

 


Komponist: Massenet, Jules (1842–1912)
Textdichter: Anonymus
Edition/Transkription: Spindler, Matthias (*1963)
Opus: Ave Maria sur la Méditation de Thaïs (Konzertfassung)
Besetzung: MezzoSopran – Chor (SATB) – Orgel (ad lib.) – Solo-Violine – Orchester
Instrumente: 2 Fl · 1 Ob · 1 EH · 2 Kl (A) · 1 BKl (B) · 2 Fg · 1 KFg – 4 Hrn (F) – Pk – Hrf – Str
Tonart: D-Dur
Dauer: 06:00

 


Komponist: Massenet, Jules (1842–1912)
Textdichter: Anonymus
Edition/Transkription: Spindler, Matthias (*1963)
Opus: Ave Maria sur la Méditation de Thaïs (Konzertfassung)
Besetzung: Sopran – Chor (SATB) – Orgel (ad lib.) – Solo-Violine – Orchester
Instrumente: 2 Fl · 1 Ob · 1 EH · 2 Kl (A) · 1 BKl (B) · 2 Fg · 1 KFg – 4 Hrn (F) – Pk – Hrf – Str
Tonart: D-Dur
Dauer: 06:00

 


Komponist: Massenet, Jules (1842–1912)
Textdichter: Anonymus
Edition/Transkription: Spindler, Matthias (*1963)
Opus: Ave Maria sur la Méditation de Thaïs (Konzertfassung)
Besetzung: MezzoSopran – Chor (SATB) – Orgel (ad lib.) – Solo-Violine – Orchester
Instrumente: 2 Fl · 2 Ob · 2 Kl (B) · 2 Fg – 4 Hrn (F) – Pk – Hrf – Str
Tonart: D-Dur
Dauer: 06:00

 


Komponist: Massenet, Jules (1842–1912)
Textdichter: Anonymus
Edition/Transkription: Spindler, Matthias (*1963)
Opus: Ave Maria sur la Méditation de Thaïs (Konzertfassung)
Besetzung: Sopran – Chor (SATB) – Orgel (ad lib.) – Solo-Violine – Orchester
Instrumente: 2 Fl · 2 Ob · 2 Kl (B) · 2 Fg – 4 Hrn (F) – Pk – Hrf – Str
Tonart: D-Dur
Dauer: 06:00

 

Download (PDF)
Compofactur MusikVerlag Massenet: Ave Maria sur la Méditation de Thaïs

Kontakt für weitere Fragen:
Compofactur MusikVerlag
Matthias Spindler
Fon   +49 (40) 22 69 50 24
eMail servicecompofactur.com