Efraín OscherPhoto © Jacqueline Hirscher

»I always intend to tell a story with my music. I want to move the listener – and I can achieve that by telling them a story infused with emotions.« Efraín Oscher

Efraín Oscher was born 1974 in Montevideo (Uruguay) and grew up in Venezuela. There he started his musical career as flautist in Venezuela’s Youth Orchestra project El Sistema, founded by José Antonio Abreu. Furthermore Oscher studied music at the Conservatory of Music Carabobo in Valencia (Venezuela). There he was a member of the Carabobo Symphony Orchestra and principal flautist of the Valencia Municipal Orchestra. As a soloist Oscher performed e.g. with the University of Carabobo Chamber Orchestra, the Caribbean Philharmonic Orchestra and the Orchestra Francisco de Miranda.

Oscher has been living in Europe since 2000 and in 2003 he obtained a Postgraduate Diploma from the Royal Academy of Music where he studied for two years with William Bennett. The RAM gave him the Benjamin Dale Award. While living in Great Britain, Oscher appeared at the Bath International Festival and the English Chamber Orchestra Young Artist Series.

Afterwards Oscher moved to Germany. Apart from his activities as a flautist he is also working as a composer. For instance he composed several works for his chamber music ensemble Bolívar Soloists as well as for internationally renowned soloists such as Pacho Flores (Deutsche Grammophon), Edicson Ruíz (Berlin Philharmonic) and Sergio Tiempo.

Oscher’s music for orchestra has been performed in Europe (Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Joven Orquesta Autónoma de Cantabria, London Schools Symphony Orchestra, Norddeutsche Philharmonie Rostock, Nuevo Mundo Chamber Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional, Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin, Orquesta Filarmónica de Gran Canaria, Orquesta Filarmónica de Málaga, Orquestra Simfònica de les Illes Balears, Prager Radio Symphonie Orchester, Sinfonisches Orchester Mainz, Stavanger Symfoniorkester) and Latin America (Orquesta de la Juventud Venezolana Simón Bolívar, Orquesta Filarmónica de Jalisco, Orquesta Filarmónica Nacional, Orquesta Sinfónica Juvenil Carlos Chávez, Orquesta Sinfónica de Puerto Rico, Orquesta Sinfonica de la Universidad de Nuevo León, Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional, Orquestra Sinfónica Municipal de Campinas, Orquestra do Theatro São Pedro).

Oscher’s music is characterised by cultural and stylistical openness. The influence of composers such as Bach, Debussy, Poulenc and Ravel goes hand in hand with polyrhythmic structures and polymetric structures from Latin America. In this, he does not pursue playing with sounds. For him it is about stories and messages. Oscher’s works are also marked by political engagement. Escenas del Sur is a protest against dictatorial governments who push their people into endless suffering. And his Green Concerto (three movements: I. The Rain Forest; II. The Bees; III. The Rainbow Warrior) deals with the beauty and destruction of nature.

The works by Efraín Oscher are available as rental material at Compofactur MusikVerlag.

Publication Schedule

Works for Orchestra

Oscher Rapsodia Caracas Score Cover
Rapsodia Caracas (2008) – First Edition
Scoring: Orchestra
Instruments: 1 Picc · 2 Fl · 2 Ob · 1 EHn · 2 Cl (Bb) · 1 Bs Cl (Bb) · 2 Bsn – 4 Hn (F) · 2 Tpt (Bb) · 2 Tbn · 1 Bs Tbn · 1 Tba – Timp – Perc – Hrp – Pno – Str
Duration: 09:00


Opus: Obertura Mexicana (2010/2012) – First Edition
Scoring: Orchestra
Instruments: 2 Fl · 2 Ob · 2 Cl (Bb) · 2 Bsn – 4 Hn (F) · 3 Tpt (C) · 2 Tbn · 1 Bs Tbn · 1 Tba – Timp – Perc (2 Players: 1: Cymb · Sus Cymb · Clav – 2: Clav · Guiro · Maraca grande or Chequeré) – Hrp – Pno – Str
Duration: 08:00

Opus: Los Viajes de Humboldt – in prep.
Scoring: Orchestra
Duration: 18:30


Oscher Mestizo Score Cover
Opus: Mestizo Concierto para Trompeta y Orquesta (2010/2017) – First Edition
Scoring: Trumpet(s) solo – Orchestra
Instruments: 3 Fl (3rd dbl. Picc) · 3 Ob (3rd dbl. EHn) · 2 Cl (Bb) · 1 Bs Cl (Bb) · 2 Bsn · 2 CBsn – 4 Hn (F) · 3 Tpt (Bb) · 2 Tbn · 1 Bs Tbn · 1 Tba – Timp – Perc (4 Players: 1: Trgl · Mar · TD · Timb/Cymb – 2: Sus Cymb · Clav · Bmb – 3: Bmb · TT · Cymb · HB · TD · Sus Cymb · Granadero · Cga – 4: Cymb · Cga/Tumba) – Pno – Hrp – EBs – Str
Duration: 16:00
Premiere: Pacho Flores, Tpt · Orquesta de la Juventud Venezolana Simón Bolívar · Domingo Garcia Hindoyan, Cond – Caracas, 23.10.2010

Opus: Miranda Concierto para Flauto y Orquesta (2011) – in prep.
Scoring: Flute solo – Orchestra
Duration: 20:00

Opus: Green Concerto Concierto para Flauta, Percusión y Orquesta (2013) – in prep.
Scoring: Flute solo – Percussion solo – Orchestra
Duration: 40:00
Premiere: Efraín Oscher, Fl · Sascha Barasa Suso, Perc · Sinfonisches Orchester Mainz (SinfOrMa) · Nikolai Spieß, Cond – Mainz, 29.01.2014

Chamber Music

Opus: Cuatro Piezas Venezolanas – in prep.
Instruments: Fl · Vl · Vc · Cb · Pno
Duration: 15:30


Oscher Escenas del sur Score Cover
Opus: Escenas del Sur (2008) – First Edition
Instruments: Vla · Cb
Duration: 10:00
Premiere: Danusha Waskiewicz, Vla · Edicson Ruíz, Cb – Berlin (Philharmonie Berlin Kammermusiksaal), 25.01.2009

Opus: Emma y el Catatumbo – in prep.
Instruments: Fl · Ob · Clar · Guit – String Quintet
Duration: 04:40

Opus: Pequeña Serenata Cambur Pintón – in prep.
Instruments: Fl · Vl · Vla · Vc · Pno
Duration: 07:00

Opus: Cinco Mentarios – in prep.
Instruments: Fl · Pno
Duration: 07:50

Download (PDF)
CompofacturMusikVerlag Oscher Works

Compofactur MusikVerlag
Matthias Spindler
Fon   +49 (40) 22 69 50 24
eMail servicecompofactur.com